Why I ditched iOS and what I miss

on

image

When the Apple Watch was first announced, I defended it from its critics.  Its pricing was not out of line with comparable products or other iOS devices. Even a failure for Apple would still be a success for most other companies. People thought the iPad would fail too. I believed my own hype.

That all changed right before the release of the Watch when Apple began advertising the product in fashion magazines on the wrists of unrealistically beautiful supermodels and tabloids showed off celebrities wearing the Watch in everyday life.

Then Apple sites reported that some Apple stores would have private rooms where they could spend time with the Watch. You needed to make a reservation to try it on. You could cut the line if you were buying it.

The message was clear. This is not a device for you. This is a device for who you wish you were. Even the lack of TV advertisements reflected that at first. Though Apple has released some commercials, when the Watch came out, there were no commercials showing how the device would change your life, no everyman wearing it to better himself. It was too exclusive for that.

It was the death knoll of the unprecedented Steve Jobs era and that made me question what kept me hanging on to iOS. I still think the MacBook Pro is the best personal computer out there but Apple and Android stole so much from one another over the years that the two operating systems started to seem more like cousins than sworn enemies.

Looking down at my iPhone 6, I noticed a trend. The apps I used most were made by Google or were available on both platforms. Google even had an app that actively extracted all of my new music and podcasts from iTunes to access on a Google device or on the web.

So, why did I need a $750 phone when a $350 OnePlus One could do all of same things with some higher end specs? The answer was clear; I didn’t. Within days, I sold my phone for $650, purchased a new One for $300 and a LG G Watch R for $190.

I do not regret my decision at all. It was an easier switch from iOS to Android than it was when I last tried it nearly four years ago and the differences were negligible.

The biggest concern was leaving iMessages behind. Group texts were nice and responding to texts from my computer was convenient. Even that is not a big deal though. The new Google Hangouts app integrates texts and Google messages.

There are some things I miss, though.

AppleCare was a big reason I bought Apple devices. When I called OnePlus for support, they said they wouldn’t do anything for me because I didn’t have an order number. There is no Android Twitter app that compares to Tweetbot, which is available only on iOS. It would be nice to see a count of notifications above an app icon by default. The fingerprint scanner was also pretty cool.

None of these things are deal breakers, though. They are mere conveniences, many of which will likely find their way to Android at some point.

All things considered, I am happy I made the switch and have not looked back since. The wide array of Android wearables makes it even better. My LG G Watch R is amazing and any feature I would want from the Apple Watch is available on this and more. Plus, the cost of the two devices is still less than the cost of just an iPhone.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. gijyun says:

    Group texting is still available on Android – and through the magic of MIghtyText, you can text from your desktop computer and sync with your phone. I couldn’t live without MightyText or WhatsApp anymore.

    Like

    1. Marcello says:

      I misspoke about the group texts. I have no problem with sending group texts but people with iPhones have issues with adding me to group texts because they are either using an old thread or have my cell number listed as an iPhone in their address book.

      As time passes, I’m also enjoying the disconnect from real time information too. No Facebook, private Twitter, separated work and personal, etc.

      Like

Leave a Reply

